Magnemo vs Mem0 / OpenMemory
| Magnemo 0.6.7 | Mem0 / OpenMemory, from their docs | |
|---|---|---|
| Where memory lives | Your memory lives on your computer, in plain files you can open. IN THE TREE: test_the_network_line_passes_on_the_package_and_fails_on_a_planted_import · test_free_tier_stdlib_only | Both. Platform: "Run and tuned by Mem0". OSS library: "Local Qdrant at |
| Who writes an entry | The only write verb. Lands in IN THE TREE: test_lists_exactly_four_tools · test_promotion_is_not_a_tool · test_the_author_is_the_seat_and_a_keyholder_claim_is_refused | The LLM extracts: "Mem0 sends the messages through an LLM that pulls out key facts, decisions, or preferences to remember." Via MCP the agent decides: "so it can decide for itself when to save something". With |
| What is kept without your yes | Agent writes NEVER reach canonical stores directly — staging only, always. IN THE TREE: test_staging_is_the_only_note_write_path · test_retrieve_excludes_staged | not stated in their docs (read 2026-10-02). Docs only say "anything the agent saved appears there" in the dashboard, which is after the fact. |
| What an entry carries (who, when, approved) | Every note is markdown with provenance frontmatter (author, written, source, status, reviewed_by, supersedes, strength). IN THE TREE: test_stage_lands_in_staging_with_provenance_and_salience · test_paperless_and_malformed_notes_refused · governance.promote | Fields: id, memory, user_id, metadata, categories, created_at, updated_at. Scope ids: " |
| Portable across clients | Anything that speaks MCP over stdio mounts the same way. IN THE TREE: test_connect_and_list_over_stdio | MCP clients: "Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code, OpenCode". Export: "structured format using customizable Pydantic schemas" via |
| License | Python 3.11+, zero dependencies, Apache-2.0. IN THE TREE: LICENSE | "Apache-2.0" |
OpenMemory: the mem0ai/mem0 README does not mention it, openmemory/README.md on main returned 404, and docs.mem0.ai/openmemory/* served the generic docs homepage. All OpenMemory-specific cells are "not stated in their docs (read 2026-10-02)". Cells below describe Mem0 Platform, Mem0 OSS and the Mem0 MCP server.
THEIR PAGES, READ 2026-10-02. EVERY PHRASE IN QUOTATION MARKS WAS FOUND ON ONE OF THEM, CHECKED 2026-10-02.
- https://github.com/mem0ai/mem0
- https://docs.mem0.ai/platform/platform-vs-oss
- https://docs.mem0.ai/open-source/overview
- https://docs.mem0.ai/core-concepts/memory-operations/add
- https://docs.mem0.ai/platform/mem0-mcp
- https://docs.mem0.ai/platform/features/direct-import
- https://docs.mem0.ai/platform/features/memory-export
Corrections welcome: open an issue.